1. K-State home
  2. »Agronomy
  3. »Welcome to Extension Agronomy
  4. »crop-production
  5. »Grain Sorghum
  6. »2013 Sorghum School
  7. »2014-sorghum-school

Department of Agronomy

2014 Sorghum School

A series of sorghum production schools was offered in early February of 2014 to provide in-depth training targeted for sorghum producers. The schools were held at Scott City, Beloit, Wichita, and Manhattan and were sponsored primarily by the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, the United Sorghum Checkoff Program (USCP), and by several entities with an interest in the sorghum industry.

Presentations

Additional Resources

Sorghum Production
Insect Pest Management
Production Budgets

Forage Sorghum Silage Cost-Return Budget in South Central Kansas (MF648)

Cost-Return Budget in Western Kansas (MF585)

Center-Pivot-Irrigated Grain Sorghum Cost-Return Budget in Western Kansas (MF582)

Center-Pivot-Irrigated Forage Sorghum Silage Cost-Return Budget in Western Kansas (MF998)

Grain Sorghum Cost-Return Budget in South Central Kansas

Grain Sorghum Cost-Return Budget in North Central Kansas (MF2159)

Grain Sorghum Cost-Return Budget in Northeast Kansas (MF573)

Grain Sorghum Cost-Return Budget in Southeast Kansas (MF995)

Contact Information

Bill Golden
 Natural Resource Economist

Dept. of Agricultural Economics
bgolden@k-state.edu

Doo-Hong Min 

Southwest Area Agronomist 
Southwest Res.-Ext. Ctr. Garden City
dmin@k-state.edu

Jonathan Aguilar
Extension Agricultural Engineer Southwest Res.-Ext. Ctr. Garden City
jaguilar@k-state.edu

Ignacio A. Ciampitti
Crop Production/Cropping Systems
ciampitti@k-state.edu

Lucas Haag
Northwest Area Agronomist Northwest Area Extension Office
lhaag@k-state.edu

Dorivar Ruiz-Diaz

Soil Fertility Specialist

ruizdiaz@k-state.edu

Curt Thompson

Weed Management Specialist
cthompso@k-state.edu

Jeff Whitworth

Extension Entomologist
jwhitwor@k-state.edu

Doug Jardine
Extension Plant Pathologist
jardine@ksu.edu

Sarah Zukoff
Extension Entomologist Southwest Res.-Ext. Ctr. Garden City
snzukoff@k-state.edu

J.P. Michaud
Associate Professor – Entomology
jpmi@k-state.edu